MathWorks Minidrone Masters

The MathWorks Minidrone Competitions introduce participants to Model-Based Design using Simulink. Through these competitions, participants design a line follower algorithm for a minidrone. Along the way, they receive an introduction to Model-Based Design—they'll design the system, model its behavior, and deploy their algorithm to hardware. 

Below are the winners of the most recent MathWorks Minidrone Competitions. 

Learn more about MathWorks Minidrones Competitions.

Poland 2023

24 March 2023: Politechnika Poznanska, 60-965 Poznan, Poland

  • Winner: Team SKA PW, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland
  • First runner-up: Team Mumbo Jumbo, Academy of Construction and Metallurgy in Krakow, Poland
  • Second runner-up: Team DroneLab, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland

EMEA 2022

28 October 2022: Virtual

  • Winner: Tabono, University of Uyo, Nigeria
  • First runner-up: Qfalcon, Qatar University, Qatar
  • Second runner-up: XWing, Ecole Centrale de Lyon, France

Deakin University 2022

26 October 2022, Virtual

  • Winner: ThisCanOnlyGoWell, Deakin University
  • First runner-up: Ace of Space, The University of Melbourne
  • Second runner-up: Monsterp3, Macquarie university

India 2022

14-15 October 2022: Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India

  • Winner: Harshit Singh, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
  • First runner-up: MXPlusC, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
  • Second runner-up: BitBot, Indian Institute of Technology, Ropar

Mexico 2022

11 October 2022: Virtual

  • Winner: Math Ram, Instituto Tecnológico de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey Campus Tampico
  • First runner-up: Turix, TecNM Tuxtla Gutierrez
  • Second runner-up: VantTec, Tecnológico de Monterrey

New Zealand 2022

07 October 2022, University of Auckland, New Zealand

  • Winner: Woaduv, University of Auckland
  • First runner-up: Leo & Isaac, University of Auckland
  • Second runner-up: Little Boys, University of Auckland

SJTU China 2022

25 September 2022: Hybrid

  • Winner: Migrater, Tsinghua University, Beijing
  • First runner-up: SYSU-ACG, Sun Yat-sen University, Guangdong
  • Second runner-up: MMJ-plane, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai

Turkey 2022

13 May 2022: Istanbul Teknik Universitesi, Istanbul, Turkey

  • Winner: YTUROK, Yildiz Technical University
  • First runner-up: Orion, Marmara Üniversitesi
  • Second runner-up: AERGO, Istanbul Medeniyet University

RMIT 2021

25 Feb 2022: Virtual

  • Winner: Y.Y.D.S., Monash University
  • First runner-up: WHY Drones, Monash University
  • Second runner-up: Dr. Drone, Monash University Malaysia

Japan 2021

11 December 2021: Virtual

  • Winner: Sakura Bachi, Nihon University
  • First runner-up: Butterfly Effect, Hosei University
  • Second runner-up: Sennbaduru, Chiba Institute of Technology

EMEA 2021

29 October 2021: Virtual

  • Winner: GaudRos_UnivPm, Università Politecnica delle Marche
  • First runner-up: OxFour, University of Oxford
  • Second runner-up: The Game Changers, Bannari Amman Institute of Technology

Mexico 2021

4 August 2021: Virtual

  • Winner: UAVNL, Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León
  • First runner-up: DroneAddicts, Tecnologico Nacional de Mexico Campus la Laguna
  • Second runner-up: RamDrones, Tecnológico de Monterrey Campus Laguna

Nordics and Baltics 2021

19 May 2021: Virtual

  • Winner: AirAarhus, Aarhus University
  • First runner-up: Physalis Inc, Politecnico di Milano - KTH Stockholm
  • Second runner-up: Routonomous, University of Southern Denmark

Colombia 2020

2 March 2021: Virtual

  • Winner: DragonFly, Universidad Nacional de Colombia Sede Bogotá
  • First runner-up: FIMEB_UAN_3CA, Universidad Antonio Nariño
  • Second runner-up: Dynamobot, Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas

RMIT 2020

2 December 2020: Virtual

  • Winner: LDM​, University of Melbourne
  • First runner-up: Nyquist’s Fab Club​, University of Melbourne
  • Second runner-up: ParrotWorks, RMIT University

Cambridge 2020

23 October 2020: Virtual

  • Winner: UC Drone​, University College Dublin​
  • First runner-up: LeadHeads​, Università del Salento​
  • Second runner-up: NMR Drone, Imperial College London​ & University of Cambridge​

IFAC 2020

16 July 2020: Virtual IFAC World Congress

  • Winner: UNISANNIO​, University of Sannio
  • First runner-up: AeroKGP​Purdue University & Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
  • Second runner-up: UniMelb, The University of Melbourne

Tokyo 2019

7 December 2019: Akihabara UDX Next Gallery, Tokyo, Japan

  • Winner: Sennbaduru, Chiba Institute of Technology
  • First runners-up:
    • Gifu Mech, Gifu University
  • Second runners-up:
    • Sunday Programmer, Tokyo University
    • Ritsumeikan, Ritsumeikan University

Colombia 2019

15 November 2019: Cámara de Comercio de Bogotá, Cedritos Headquarters, Bogotá D.C., Colombia

  • Winner: IRON, Universidad Distrital Francisco Jose de Caldas
  • First runner-up: miniQUD, Universidad Distrital Francisco Jose de Caldas
  • Second runner-up: BeeControlling, Universidad Nacional de Colombia

IROS 2019

5 November 2019: The Venetian Macao, Macau, China

  • Winner: SRMUAV, SRM Institute of Science and Technology
  • First runner-up: Beeclust, SRM Institute of Science and Technology
  • Second runner-up: KNUT_ROVI, Korea National University of Transportation

NUMA 2019

18 October 2019: NUMA Bengaluru, Bengaluru, India

  • Winner: HiveX, B.M.S. College of Engineering
  • First runner-up: PVGCOET, Pune Vidyarthi Griha’s College of Engineering
  • Second runner-up: Madg(w)eek, SRM Institute of Science and Technology


2 October 2019: Silverstone Circuit, United Kingdom

  • Winner: Vickers Robotics, Lancaster University
  • First runner-up: Anaheim Mechatronics, University of Leeds
  • Second runner-up: Flying Penguin, Imperial College London

IEEE International Workshop on Metrology for Industry 4.0 and IoT 2019

6 June 2019: University of Naples Federico II, Naples, Italy

  • Winner: Fuori Controllo, University of Naples Federico II
  • First runner-up: Neptuno, Politecnico di Milano
  • Second runner-up: POLImate, Politecnico di Milano

Colombia 2018

25 October 2018: Cámara de Comercio de Bogotá, Cedritos Headquarters, Bogotá D.C., Colombia

  • Winner: UniCauca, Universidad del Cauca
  • First runner-up: DrUN, Universidad Nacional de Colombia
  • Second runner-up: SkyFalcon, Universidad Militar Nueva Granada

IROS 2018 Madrid

4 October 2018: Madrid Municipal Conference Centre, Madrid, Spain

  • Winner: UNL-IIITD, University of Nebraska-Lincoln and IIIT Delhi
  • First runner-up: Bathkoora, University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
  • Second runner-up: MadLab Drone, Universidad Pontificia de Comillas, Spain